A Clear Sunrise on Beltane (May Day)

Some of Bridgetown's musicians. Photo by Sue, taken some years ago.

I moved quietly around the house at 4:15am this morning to avoid waking my partner as I set off for the pre-sunrise Beltane festivities at Washington Park in Portland.  My friend Doug and I were among the first arrivals, stamping our feet and walking the perimeter of the rose garden to warm up. To the east, the sky began to turn pink, and I could see the hazy outline of Mt. Hood edged in purple.

My favorite part of the morning is the Abbots Bromley Horn Dance, always performed with great beauty.  This year there were several Morris sides, including a group from Eugene, and a cluster of young children who did a rather good job.  After the Morris dances, Doug and I tuned our harps and played for about 45 minutes in the once again quiet, sunny gardens before heading off to the eastside for breakfast.

For your enjoyment, here is a short clip of the Abbots Bromley Horn Dance from the 2009 festivities at the rose garden.

–Sue

2 Responses

  1. Very good! Glad you got to play the harp and I hope you got some appreciative listeners.

    • Hello, Simon.
      I got my wish, which was to play as an offering, rather than to a crowd. That always feels better to me. Thanks for your note.
      –Sue

Leave a Reply

