Recent Blog Updates

I’ve added several recent updates to the blog.  On the Video Clips page, there are now several new videos, including Paul Dooley, my own non-video clip, a harpmaker’s section with a short clip of David Kortier in his workshop, the luthiers at Ardival Harps, and a showcased instrument by McDonald Harps.

A chairful of instruments by David Kortier.

In honor of my work on the Straloch MS, I’ve added one of my homework assignments, which is a clip of Rob MacKillop, that wonderful lute player in Edinburgh, who plays Port Jean Lindsay, which I am just beginning to learn. I hope to post more about those strange and beautiful ports as I work through the manuscript.

Farewell, little friend.

This month I am sorry to report that my creaky old black cat, who has long been my most faithful audience member and at times vocal critic, has passed away after a very long life of about 20 years.  Right up to the last hour of her life, she was listening to the clarsach.

–Sue

Postscript: How many cats do you know who’ve hosted Ann Heymann, her Trinity College harp and the Welsh telyn rawn right in their own snug homes?  Suffice it to say, my old cat has had a colorful, eventful life.

5 Responses

  1. Hi Sue,

    So glad your cat was soothed by the clarsach in her last moments–can’t think of a graceful and kindly way for her to pass over to where ever cats may go.

    She looks so serene in the picture posted, you have my heartfelt commiserations.

    Blessings,

    Duncan Saunders

  2. Thanks, Duncan. You’re very kind.

    I’m surprised that she seemed to like the sound and vibrations from the harp. She would often stretch out on the floor right next to me, and I’d imagine that the experience, down low, and so close to the soundbox, must have been something other than relaxing. Who knows? Anyway, I appreciate your words. –Sue

  3. Oh, terribly sorry to hear about your cat. I know how difficult it is, even though they’ve had a long life.

    We have two black cats and I’ve never figured out what they think about the harp, i.e.; if they like it or not. I think the reason one of them hangs around when I play is because I’m paying more attention to the harp than to him.

    • Thanks, Peter, for your kindness. I used to have a tortoise shell cat who got between me and, well, everything else because she couldn’t stand to be something other than the center of attention.
      Wouldn’t you think that cats would get a headache from leaning right against the footstool when we play loud bass chords? Apparently not..

      Currently I’m working on Port Jean Lindsay and Port Preist from Straloch. How are your piobaireachd and other pieces coming along? I am very glad that you sent me your video clip, and hope you’re still thinking of starting a Vimeo account. –Sue

Leave a Reply

